The 2004 Institute of Medicine Report, “In the Nation’s Compelling Interest: Ensuring Diversity in the Health Care Workforce”, clearly states that, although the diversity of the United States is rapidly increasing, many minority racial/ethnic groups are under-represented in the health professions. Increasing diversity among researchers, clinicians, and educators may help to enhance the diversity of research and clinical environments and ultimately help improve global health.

Previous recipients of the Award are:

2009: Molly Butler Aultz, Oregon Health & Science University, Portland, OR

2010: Laura Ann Curr Beamer, University of Utah, Salt Lake City, UT
          David Hodgins, Arizona State University, Phoenix, AZ

2011: Rydell (Dale) Todicheeney, University of San Diego, San Diego, CA

2012: Milissa Grandchamp, Montana State University, Bozeman, MT

2013: Lei-Lani White, Arizona State University, Phoenix, AZ

2014: Michelle Kahn-John, University of Colorado, Aurora, CO

This award was established by Dr. Ann M. Voda, PhD, RN, Professor Emeritus, University of Utah College of Nursing and WIN Emeritus. Dr. Voda wrote the following in her proposal to establish the award:

“As you know, since my retirement I have been deeply involved with the Adopt-A-Native Elder program which takes me to the Navajo reservation. This presence on the reservation has been a consciousness raising experience for me regarding the need for culturally competent care and the absence of any scholarship addressing the multiple health disparities that exist. As a long time member of WIN, I have observed that there are few if any Native Americans who attend the conferences or present papers. I am aware that Native American students are enrolled in nursing programs in the Western region, but, for the most part, remain invisible at WIN. Perhaps this award will be an incentive to engage some of those students to participate with the WIN community of scholars.”

The purpose of this award is to:

  1. Provide monetary conference support to an American Indian/Alaskan Native/First Nation nursing student or nurse clinician attending the 2016 WIN Communicating Nursing Research Conference to be held on April 6-9, 2016 at the Disneyland Hotel in Anaheim, CA.
  2. Promote nursing student/clinician engagement with the WIN community of scholars.
  3. Enhance diversity and networking related to health disparity research, practice and education.

To be eligible for the Ann M. Voda American Indian/Alaskan Native/First Nation Conference Award, the applicant must be:

  1. American Indian/Alaskan Native/First Nation ethnicity;
  2. Affiliated with a WIN member organization; and
  3. Willing to attend the Awards luncheon.

If the above criteria are met, priority will be given as follows to an applicant with: 1) podium presentation, 2) poster presentation or 3) attending the WIN conference and not presenting.

Please prepare a brief, no more than one page, 12 point, double spaced statement which describes your reasons for attending WIN and anticipated benefits to your professional development.

Please forward your resume or curriculum vitae along with your application form.

Please provide the name and contact information for one mentor or advisor who can verify your WIN affiliation status.

The deadline for receipt of the Voda Conference Award is Monday, February 1, 2016 at 5:00 PM.

The Ann M. Voda American Indian/Alaskan Native/First Nation Conference Award will be presented at the awards ceremony held in conjunction with the 49th Annual Communicating Nursing Research Conference, April 6-9, 2016 at the Disneyland Hotel in Anaheim, CA.. The Award recipient must attend the luncheon (cost of the luncheon will be hosted), and will receive a plaque. The Chair of the Selection Committee or designee will introduce the award recipient and share the reasons why this person is deserving of the award. A monetary award in the amount of $1,000 will be presented at the conclusion of the conference on Saturday, April 9, 2016. The WIN website will feature the award recipient.

The Selection Committee for the Ann M. Voda American Indian/Alaskan Native/First Nation Conference Award consists of: Carol Ashton, Chair; Tina DeLapp, Ann Hubbert, and Julie McAnulty.