The 2004 Institute of Medicine Report, “In the Nation’s Compelling Interest: Ensuring Diversity in the Health Care Workforce”, clearly states that, although the diversity of the United States is rapidly increasing, many minority racial/ethnic groups are under-represented in the health professions. Increasing diversity among researchers, clinicians, and educators may help to enhance the diversity of research and clinical environments and ultimately help improve global health.


This award was established by Dr. Ann M. Voda, PhD, RN, Professor Emeritus, University of Utah College of Nursing and WIN Emeritus. Dr. Voda wrote the following in her proposal to establish the award:

“As you know, since my retirement I have been deeply involved with the Adopt-A-Native Elder program which takes me to the Navajo reservation. This presence on the reservation has been a consciousness raising experience for me regarding the need for culturally competent care and the absence of any scholarship addressing the multiple health disparities that exist. As a long time member of WIN, I have observed that there are few if any Native Americans who attend the conferences or present papers. I am aware that Native American students are enrolled in nursing programs in the Western region, but, for the most part, remain invisible at WIN. Perhaps this award will be an incentive to engage some of those students to participate with the WIN community of scholars.”

The purpose of this award is to:

    1. Provide monetary conference support to an American Indian/Alaska Native/First Nation nursing student or nurse clinician attending the annual WIN Communicating Nursing Research Conference.
    2. Promote nursing student/clinician engagement with the WIN community of scholars.
    3. Enhance diversity and networking related to health disparity research, practice and education.


2009Molly Butler Aultz, Oregon Health & Science University, Portland, OR
2010Laura Ann Curr Beamer, University of Utah, Salt Lake City, UTDavid Hodgins, Arizona State University, Phoenix, AZ
2011Rydell (Dale) Todicheeney, University of San Diego, San Diego, CA
2012Milissa Grandchamp, Montana State University, Bozeman, MT
2013Lei-Lani White, Arizona State University, Phoenix, AZ
2014Michelle Kahn-John, University of Colorado, Aurora, CO
2016Nicholas Zumwalt, University of Arizona, Tucson, AZ
2017Lenora Duncan Littledear, University of New Mexico, Albuquerque, NM
2018Melody M. Hoffman, University of Alaska Anchorage, Anchorage Alaska
2019Rhea N. DeCoteau, University of Arizona, Tucson, AZ
2020Randi Powell Sexton, Oregon Health & Science University, Portland, OR


To be eligible for the Ann M. Voda American Indian/Alaska Native/First Nation Conference Award, the applicant must be:

  1. American Indian/Alaska Native/First Nation ethnicity;
  2. Affiliated with a WIN member organization; and
  3. Attend both the Awards luncheon and the full conference through Saturday.

If the above criteria are met, priority will be given as follows to an applicant with: 1) podium presentation, 2) poster presentation or 3) attending the WIN conference and not presenting.


Please prepare a brief, no more than one page, 12 point, double spaced statement which describes your reasons for attending WIN, anticipated benefits to your professional development, and most importantly, how you have and/or will contribute to the health care of indigenous people. Award applicants are encouraged to work with a mentor to ensure clarity and specificity in the “Personal Statement”.


Please forward your resume or curriculum vitae along with your application form.


Please provide the name and contact information for one mentor or advisor who can verify your WIN affiliation status.


Click here to download the Application Form for the Voda Award:


If you are selected as the recipient of the Ann M. Voda American Indian/Alaska Native/First Nation Conference Award, you will receive the award during the Awards Luncheon scheduled on Thursday, April 16, 2020, and a monetary award in the amount of $1,000 at the completion of conference attendance. The recipient must attend the Awards luncheon (cost of the luncheon will be provided). The WIN website will feature the award recipient.


  • Applications are due in the WIN office on Monday, February 1, 2021.
  • Award recipient notified of the selection in February 2021.
  • Recipient must attend the WIN Awards Luncheon on Thursday, April 15, 2021.


Carol A. Ashton, PhD, RN, Professor Emerita and WN Emeriti at .


The Selection Committee for the Ann M. Voda American Indian/Alaska Native/First Nation Conference Award consists of: Carol Ashton, Chair; Tina DeLapp, and Ann Hubbert.