Archive for the News Category

Congrats to WIN members included in the 2021 Class of Academy Fellows!

Congratulations to WIN members and friends included in the 2021 Class of American Academy of Nursing Fellows!

Gail Armstrong, Oregon Health & Science University
Miriam Bender, University of California, Irvine
Diane Breckenridge, Charles R. Drew University
Kirsten Choi, University of California, Los Angeles
Sarah Choi, University of California, Los Angeles
Linda Edelman, University of Utah
Leah FitzGerald, Mount Saint Mary’s University
Perry Gee, Intermountain Healthcare
Jung-Ah Lee, University of California, Irvine
Judy Liesveld, University of New Mexico
Lauri Linder, University of Utah
Michelle Litchman, University of Utah
Beth Tigges, University of New Mexico
Catherine Van Son, Washington State University

See Press Release

Dr. Kathy Lee named WIN’s 2022 Distinguished Research Lecturer

Dr. Kathryn A. Lee, PhD, RN, Professor Emerita, UCSF School of Nursing, has been named the recipient of WIN’s 2022 Distinguished Research Lectureship Award. The Distinguished Research Lectureship Award was instituted at the 1988 annual Communicating Nursing Research conference sponsored by the Western Society for Research in Nursing (WSRN was merged with WIN in 1996). The annual award recognizes a senior investigator whose research career has made substantial and sustained contributions to nursing. Dr. Lee will receive her award and deliver an address at the 2022 WIN Conference in Portland, April 6-9. Congratulations, Dr. Lee!!

WIN and NLN Announce New Joint Research Grant

Media Contact: Michael Keaton; 202-909-2544
National League for Nursing & Western Institute of Nursing Announce New Joint Research Grant

Annual Award Set to Support the Science of Nursing Education, Beginning with 2022 Grants Cycle

Washington, DC — With a mutual interest in enlarging the body of scholarship in nursing education, the National League for Nursing and the Western Institute of Nursing, the nursing research organization in the western region of the U.S., have teamed up to co-sponsor an annual $5,000 research grant to a primary investigator seeking to complete a scholarly project in academic nursing education or clinical academic nursing education, or a doctoral dissertation. Each organization will be responsible for funding half of the grant each year. The new NLN-WIN Research Grant falls under the oversight of the NLN/Chamberlain University College of Nursing Center for the Advancement of the Science of Nursing Education. The center actively engages in cutting-edge research to transform nursing education, develop scholarship, and publish findings to advance the science of nursing education. The inaugural award will be made by July 1, 2022, with the winner selected from proposals submitted to the League’s Research Grants Program.

“We are delighted to partner with the Western Institute of Nursing, a nonprofit organization committed, as is the National League for Nursing, to connecting a diverse nursing community to promote excellence in nursing education and health care delivery through advancing the science of nursing education,” said NLN Chair Dr. Patricia S. Yoder-Wise, RN, EdD, NEA-BC, ANEF, FAONL, FAAN, Professor and Dean Emerita at Texas Tech University Health Sciences Center and president of The Wise Group.

“This timely initiative to support scholarship, we hope, marks the start of a long, rewarding collaboration between our two professional associations, both dedicated to transforming nursing education for this and future generations of the nation’s nursing workforce,” said NLN President and CEO Beverly Malone, PhD, RN, FAAN.

“The Western Institute of Nursing values this collaborative grant with the National League for Nursing. We anticipate this association will help fulfill WIN’s vision that ‘One day, all people will have the opportunity to achieve their best health and wellbeing,’” said WIN President Jane H. Lassetter, PhD, RN, FAAN.

Proposals for the 2022 NLN-WIN Research Grant will be accepted beginning in October 2021. Grant applicants must be members of both the League and WIN and reside or be enrolled in an advanced degree program in the western region of the United States. The grantee will be notified of the award by July 1, 2022, and be formally recognized in the Awards Ceremony at the 2022 NLN Education Summit in September 2022.

Complete information for prospective applicants may be found on the NLN website.