Geriatric Nursing Education Award

Geriatric Nursing Education Award 2018-06-08T16:58:58+00:00


In 2011, the Western Institute of Nursing in cooperation with the John A. Hartford Center of Geriatric Nursing Excellence at Oregon Health & Science University established a “Regional Geriatric Nursing Education Award” within WIN, and the first award was given in 2012. The OHSU Hartford Center is providing the funds for the award.


2012: Catherine Van Son, Washington State University, Spokane, WA
2013: Glenise McKenzie, Oregon Health & Science University, Ashland, OR
2014: Young-Shin Lee, San Diego State University, San Diego, CA
2018: Valerie J. Flattes, University of Utah


Each nominee must have a sponsor and a co-sponsor. The sponsor, co-sponsor, and nominee must be individual members of WIN or be from a WIN member agency(ies).

The online nomination form must be completed and submitted for each nominee.

Each nomination must include the sponsor’s nominating statement and a letter of support from the co-sponsor. None of the statements shall exceed one (1) single-spaced page. Each letter should specifically address the selection criteria below.


Each nomination must include statements from the sponsor and co-sponsor that provide evidence of excellence and/or innovation in gerontological nursing education. Faculty at any rank engaged in teaching in either didactic or clinical settings at the baccalaureate or graduate level are eligible.


The Geriatric Nursing Research & Education Awards Selection Committee will select the 2019 recipient. Current Committee members are Terri Harvath, Cynthia Corbett, Ginny Pepper, and Corinna Trujillo-Tanner. The sponsor will be notified of the Committee’s decision by January 2019. The sponsor will have the opportunity to notify the award recipient prior to notification by WIN.


The Regional Geriatric Nursing Education Award will be presented at the awards ceremony held in conjunction with 52nd Annual Communicating Nursing Research Conference, April 10-13, 2019 at the Town & Country Resort and Convention Center, San Diego, California.  A plaque and a cash award of $250 will be presented to the awardee.


WIN is not able to defray registration fees or reimburse travel expenses for the award recipients, sponsors or co-sponsors.


The completed online nomination form, the letter from the sponsor and the letter from the co-sponsor must be received in the WIN office no later than Thursday, November 15, 2018 at 5:00 PM.


Please use the online nomination form for making your nomination. Click here for the form