WIN’s 2023 Distinguished Research Lectureship Award

WIN News,

Dr. Mary A. NiesCongratulations to Dr. Mary A. Nies, PhD, RN, FAAN, FAAHB, Idaho State University, on being named the recipient of WIN’s 2023 Distinguished Research Lectureship Award. This prestigious annual award recognizes a senior investigator whose research career has made substantial and sustained contributions to nursing (see past recipients). Dr. Nies will receive her award and deliver her address at the conference in April.

Dr. Nies is a Professor in the Division of Health Sciences at Idaho State University. Dr. Nies is Project Director on the Idaho Senior Refugee Interprofessional Holistic Health Project funded by Health Resources and Services Administration (HRSA) for $1.5 Million. In addition, Dr. Nies is serving as Research Mentor for tenure track faculty on two externally funded research grants, PI on the Jonas Leaders Scholars Program for doctoral students, ISU Liaison for the RWJ Foundation SIP grant, and PI on a university and medical center contract for faculty and staff nurse mentoring. Dr. Nies is the former Dean of the School of Nursing. Dr. Nies is a behavioral nurse scientist with a research focus on community interventions promoting health in vulnerable populations. Her scientific expertise lies in health promotion and intervention research. In addition to being an invited speaker, she has presented her research at regional, national, and international conferences. She has received extensive federal and foundation funding to support her research. Dr. Nies has numerous publications in well-recognized peer review journals. She is the co-author of the textbook Community/Public Health Nursing: Promoting the Health of Populations now in its 6th edition. Dr. Nies has experience working with interdisciplinary research teams and has served on several NIH and CDC grant review study sections. She is a Fellow in the American Academy of Nursing and a Fellow in the American Academy of Health Behavior. Dr. Nies was inducted into the International Nurse Researcher Hall of Fame, Sigma Theta Tau International Honor Society in 2011 in Mexico. She received the Distinguished Alumnus Award from the University of Wisconsin, Madison School of Nursing, the Loyola University Chicago School of Nursing, and the University of Illinois at Chicago College of Nursing. Her BSN is from the University of Wisconsin, Madison, her MSN from Loyola University Chicago, and her PhD in Nursing Science is from the University of Illinois at Chicago. She completed a post-doctoral fellowship at the School of Nursing, University of Michigan working with Dr. Jean Goeppinger and Dr. Nola Pender. Dr. Nies is an alumna of the AACN-Wharton Executive Leadership Program at the Wharton School of the University of Pennsylvania.