In 1992, Kathleen Ann Long, formerly Dean and Professor of the College of Nursing at Montana State University, and Jeanne Kearns, formerly Executive Director of WIN, established the Anna M. Shannon Mentorship Award. This award recognizes Dr. Shannon, who was then Dean and Professor Emeritus of the Montana State University College of Nursing, for her unselfish efforts to support and promote the professional growth of other nurses in the West.


1993Phyllis Ethridge, Carondelet St. Mary's Hospital, Tucson, AZ
1994Jeanne Quint Benoliel, University of Washington, Seattle, WAAfaf I. Meleis, University of California, San Francisco, San Francisco, CA
1995Ann M. Voda, University of Utah, Salt Lake City, UTHelen Nakagawa-Kogan, University of Washington, Seattle, WA
1996Barbara J. Stewart, Oregon Health Sciences University, Portland, OR
1998Sheila M. Kodadek, Oregon Health Sciences University, Portland, OR
1999Joan Kathleen (Kathy) Magilvy, University of Colorado, Denver, CO
2000Jacquelyn H. Flaskerud, University of California, Los Angeles, CA
2001Jillian Inouye, University of Hawaii at Manoa, Honolulu, HI
2002Anne Marie Kotzer, The Children's Hospital, Denver, CONancy White, University of Northern Colorado, Greeley, CO
2003Clarann Weinert, Montana State University, Bozeman, MT
2004Julie Fleury, Arizona State University, Tempe, AZ
2005Mary E. Tiedeman, Brigham Young University, Provo, UT
2006Noel J. Chrisman, University of Washington, Seattle, WATina D. DeLapp, University of Alaska Anchorage, Anchorage, AK
2007Becky Christian, University of Utah, Salt Lake City, UT
2008Nancy L. R. Anderson, University of California Los Angeles, Los Angeles, CA
2009Lori A. Loan, Chief, Nursing Research Service, Madigan Army Medical Center, Tacoma, WA
2010Kathryn Records, Arizona State University, Phoenix, AZ
2011Martha J. Lentz, University of Washington, Seattle, WA
2012Heather M. Young, University of California Davis, Sacramento, CA
2013Nancy Fugate Woods, University of Washington, Seattle, WA
2014Terry Badger, The University of Arizona, Tucson, AZ
2015Anne G. Rosenfeld, The University of Arizona, Tucson, AZ
2016Lorraine Evangelista, University of California Irvine, Los Angeles, CA
2017Marie Lobo, University of New Mexico, Albuquerque, NM
2018Judith A. Berg, University of Arizona, Tucson, AZ.
2019Jane Grassley, Boise State University, Boise, ID
2020Basia Belza, University of Washington, Seattle, WA


The individual who is submitting the nomination must be an individual member of WIN or be from a WIN member agency. The online nomination form must be completed and submitted for each nominee no later than Sunday, November 1, 2020. Each nominee must have a sponsor and two supporting nominators. At least one of the three nominators shall be a person who was mentored by the nominee. Each nomination must include the sponsor’s nominating statement that shall not exceed 1200 words; and letters from the two supporting nominators, none of which shall exceed 500 words. The statements should indicate how the sponsor or supporting nominator knows this nurse and for how long, and describe how the nominee has served as an exemplary mentor. The nominator who was mentored by the nominee shall note that relationship in his/her letter. See “Criteria for Selection” for additional guidance.


The nominee may be a registered nurse who is a current constituent individual member of WIN or is employed by a WIN member agency. The Selection Committee will review only evidence submitted on the nomination form documenting that the individual is an exemplary mentor for nurses and/or for nursing students. Nominators shall provide evidence that the candidate:

A. Serves as a role model for leadership and professionalism;
B. Is actively involved in supporting the professional development of nurses and/or nursing students;
C. Places greater emphasis on advancement of the nursing profession than on advancement of self; and
D. Communicates a vision of nursing which inspires others. A word limit of 250 – 300 words will be imposed on each section.


The WIN Awards Committee will select the award recipient. The sponsor will have the opportunity to notify the award recipient prior to notification by WIN.


The Anna M. Shannon Mentorship Award will be presented at the 2021 WIN Conference.


WIN is not able to defray registration fees or reimburse travel expenses for the award recipient, sponsor or co-sponsors.


The completed online nomination form, the letter from the sponsor and the letters of support from the two co-sponsors must be received in the WIN office by Sunday, November 1, 2020.