Candidates Corner 2018-09-20T17:45:08+00:00

Candidates Corner

Following is the Slate of Candidates for the 2019 WIN Election. Names are placed alphabetically on this page. Names will be drawn by lot for the ballot. The ballot will be available to members on Friday February 1, 2019. Voting will be closed on Friday, February 15, 2019. Watch for an email notice of the availability of the ballot. Please vote for WIN’s future leadership in the upcoming election.

Governor Representative of Nursing Research

Deborah Kenny, PhD, RN, FAAN
Associate Professor
Helen and Arthur E. Johnson Beth-El College of Nursing and Health Sciences
University of Colorado Colorado Springs
Colorado Springs, CO

Statement: I would be honored to serve as the Governor Representative of Nursing Research. WIN is a vibrant community of Faculty, Practitioners and Researchers, an organization of which I am proud to be a part. Being both a faculty member and a researcher, I believe I could provide leadership to work with the WIN leadership team to move WIN toward its strategic goals of collaboration between researchers and clinicians, to sustain and grow the visibility of WIN as an organization where ideas can be generated, researched and then implemented. I have the skills and desire to serve WIN in this capacity.

Paula Meek, PhD, FAAN
Professor & PhD Program Director
University of Colorado Denver
Aurora, CO

Statement: I have been a member of the Western Institute of Nursing (WIN) since I was a Doctoral Student at the University of Arizona. I have actively participated in research at WIN by reviewing abstracts, poster judging, presenting my research and facilitating students participation. I previously served on the board of governors as secretary-treasurer in 2006-2008 and understand the effort involved. As the governor representative for Research, I am committed to maintaining the high standards and voice for research. I am committed to the WIN and would be honored to serve on the board of governors in this capacity.

President Elect

Jane Lassetter, PhD, RN
Professor and Associate Dean
College of Nursing
Brigham Young University
Provo, UT

Statement: WIN has long been my professional home. During my 17 years of membership, I have enjoyed serving on WIN’s Nominating and Membership Committees and twice as Governor-at-Large on the Board. My leadership experience also includes serving as President of the International Family Nursing Association. As WIN President, I will be committed to moving this vibrant organization forward and will work closely with the Board and committees to foster opportunities for members to connect with each other and collaborate on research, education methods, and nursing practice. Let’s work together to make meaningful differences in people’s lives and health.

Governor Representative of Student Members

Chloe Littzen, MSN, RN, CPN, AE-C
PhD Student
College of Nursing
The University of Arizona
Toledo, OH

Statement: I am a 2nd year PhD Student at the University of Arizona focused on nursing workforce and system issues. I am a board member of the Arizona Foundation for the Future of Nursing, and on the membership committee for the Western Institute of Nursing. I have previous leadership experience as the president of my local student nurses association, director at large for the Student Nurses Association of Arizona, with active involvement in the Arizona Nurses Association. I am passionate about active engagement in nursing associations and empowering others to believe that their voice makes a difference.