History of WIN

The Western Institute of Nursing (WIN) is the western regional nursing organization that succeeded the Western Council on Higher Education for Nursing (WCHEN). In 1985, following extensive deliberations by special committees, the decision to create an autonomous, self-supporting organization was implemented. At the first meeting of the new organization, nurses from collegiate schools of nursing and health care agencies adopted the bylaws and the new name of the organization, Western Institute of Nursing. The organization moved to Portland, Oregon on July 1, 1996. The Western Institute of Nursing was incorporated on November 3, 1998 in accordance with the Oregon Nonprofit Corporation Act.

WIN exists to bring together a diverse community of nurses in a shared commitment to transcend the boundaries of knowledge development and application to advance the discipline and drive improvements in practice, outcomes and cost. The organizational structure includes the Membership Assembly, the Board of Governors, committees and societies.

The annual Communicating Nursing Research conference is the oldest conference of its kind in the United States. WIN has continuously offered the program since 1968. Funding for the first six years came from the Division of Nursing. The 50th Annual Communicating Nursing Research Conference was held from April 19-22, 2017 in Denver, Colorado. The Anniversary Book – 50 Years of Leadership: Continuing the Vision

There are six categories of membership in WIN–agency, associate, individual, student, retired, associate and honorary. Agency memberships are open to organized nursing education programs and organized nursing practices in the 13 western states. Individual membership is open to RNs who support the mission of WIN. Student members must be matriculated in a degree granting program. Associate memberships are open to individual non-nurses who, and to organizations, agencies, and businesses outside the western region which, support the mission of WIN. Honorary memberships include those designated for Emeritus status and those who have made supporting contributions to WIN.